To Pro-Lifers Who Want to Defund Planned Parenthood

Go for it. Exercise that right to freedom of speech. That freedom to create change and back only the things that support your morals. I fully support you in utilizing your rights. But I ask you to think about one thing before you make such a major decision. Because this defunding of a national organization is going to have dire consequences whether you choose to believe it or not. I would like for you to think about the number of lifesaving services provided within Planned Parenthood that you will be ending. Services that actually help in preventing abortions.

But let’s take abortion off the table, because Planned Parenthood more than an “abortion clinic”. They provide contraceptives, preventative care, and so much more. If you choose to defund such an organization, all of these needed services within our communities will no longer be available to women who cannot afford it.

Let’s use the PAP smear as an example. Getting a regular PAP is imperative to a woman’s health. I personally am someone who needs to get a PAP regularly because I have a higher risk of getting cervical cancer than other women. This kind of preventative care could save my life in the long run and I am very lucky in that I can receive preventative care at an affordable rate. Some women do not have that luxury and places like Planned Parenthood provide this for them.

However, this form of preventative care can be dehumanizing to women if not done properly. I had one such experience when I went in for my first PAP. I was told repeatedly to “calm down” and “just relax” while they did nothing to try and help me relax. I felt like I was being told that I was over-reacting to an unwanted object being shoved into my cervix. At the time I didn’t realize how wrong it was for me to have an experience like this and that it didn’t have to be that way. I didn’t realize that I have the right to be treated with care and love.

Here’s the issue with defunding Planned Parenthood. We need places like Planned Parenthood who will provide these services to women who need access to that care. We need places like Planned Parenthood to provide these services that place women in such vulnerable positions and will not degrade them.

So, before you defund something like Planned Parenthood…. I suggest you figure out a way to make up for the services that will be lost. If we don’t do that, then we are failing our daughters, mothers, sisters, grandmothers, and friends, all over our country.

Leave a Reply

